Welcome to my world of blabbers ..

Friday, October 2, 2009


Last night saw cricket`s oscars been given away . This panel was headed by eminent cricketers which included Sunil Gavaskar , Clive Lloyd , Anil Kumble , Ravi Shastri to name a few . So an award is always a special recognition to your achievement . So this is how it all happened the following list shows the winners in the previous editions

2004-Rahul dravid
2005-Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis
2006-Ricky Ponting
2007-Ricky Ponting(again!!)
2008-Shivnaraine Chanderpaul

So there were a lots of guess work going on for 2009 , i thought it will go to Gautham Gambhir , but my guess went completely went wrong , Mitchell Johnson walked away with top honours .

The other winners were
Gautham Gambhir :Test player of the year
Mahendra Singh Dhoni :ODI player of the year
Tillakaratne Dilshan :T20 player of the year
Peter Siddle :Emerging player of the year
Aleem Dar :Umpire of the year
Claire Taylor :women`s cricketer of the year
William porterfield :Associate player of the year
New Zeland Cricket team :Spirit of cricket year

So awards do not come just like that for the above achievers , here is a small run through of each of them

Mitchell Johnson : Johnson was a surprise choice for the title, he managed 80 wickets in 17 matches, he was the most prolific strike bowler of the year, and he also recorded his maiden Test century and an unbeaten 96 against South Africa.

Gautham Gambhir : He has been one of the most successful and consistent batsman last year . His numbers do the talking , India's star opener, Gambhir, after an impressive haul of 1269 runs at 84.60 in the eight Tests during the qualification period was named the Test Player of the Year.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni : He may have lost his midas touch , but his one day numbers are not showing that ,Dhoni played 24 ODIs during the voting period, scoring 967 runs at an average of 60.43 and strike-rate of 86.63, and also claimed 26 dismissals as he led India to 17 victories including a 5-0 demolition of England.To add on he was also the ODI player of the year in 2008 .

Tillakaratne Dilshan : He does look like a mini bomb ( explosive indeed ) , after capping a sensational World Twenty20 tournament in England in June with a show-stealing 96 off 57 balls against West Indies in the semi-final. His performance at The Oval, in which no other Sri Lanka batsman managed more than 24, included two sixes and 12 fours, and though Sri Lanka went on to lose the final to Pakistan, Dilshan was nevertheless named as the Man of the Tournament, with a total of 317 runs at 52.83.

Peter Siddle : He has been an active new kid on the block ,another aussie who keeps the pace battery going . After claiming 49 wickets at 28.93 in the 12 matches since his debut at Mohali in October 2008, including five-wicket hauls against South Africa at Sydney and England at Headingley, both of which led to memorable victories. Siddle beat his fellow Australia seamer, Ben Hilfenhaus, to the award, as well as England's Graham Onions and New Zealand's Jesse Ryder.

Spirit of Cricket: This was rightly given to the New Zeland cricket team , Daniel Vettori was a proud man , one should remember the incident he called back Paul Collingwood in a do or die game for New Zeland . According to me this team deserves this award .

So the best umpire for a change was given to Aleem Dar of Pakistan !! Simon Taufel missed out this time .

Indians can be proud after having received the best ODI and Test player awards . From here on the individuals need to strike a balance and play as a team to lift the 2011 world cup ( optimistic!)
Let us hope the best happens .

1 comment:

  1. Good statistics Sriram. Keep it up will be reviewing regularly.